Fairy Tales Reimagined: Essays on New Retellings

In 2009, I published my first book, Fairy Tales Reimagined: Essays on New Retellings. This collection grew from a panel I put together for a NeMLA conference, which grew into 2 panels due to outpouring of submissions, which grew into a book of 16 critical essays. I worked with McFarland, an academic publisher, and I was lucky enough to be connected with a great editor also named Susan, who served as the editor of all 3 of my McFarland-published books. I teach a course on fairy tales every 3 semesters at Wesley College, and we use many of the essays in this text for class discussion and interpretation.

Here is the description from the back cover: No mere escapist fantasies, the reimagined fairy tales of the late 20th and early 21st centuries reflect the social, political, and cultural truths of our age with insight, intelligence, and complexity. Sixteen essays consider fairy tales recreated through short stories, novels, poetry, and the graphic novel from both best-selling and lesser-known writers, applying a variety of theoretical perspectives, including postmodernism, psychoanalysis, Marxism, feminism, structuralism, queer theory, and gender studies.

Leave a comment